New Releases
Fiction & Poetry
Dear Life
Iron Curtain
Books in the news

Random House of Canada Limited has become the sole owner of McClelland & Stewart. Established in 1906, McClelland & Stewart is one of Canada’s most revered trade book publishing houses, whose internationally acclaimed authors include such notable Canadians as Margaret Atwood, Leonard Cohen, Rohinton Mistry, Farley Mowat and Michael Ondaatje. Brad Martin, President and Chief Executive Officer of Random House of Canada, remarked “McClelland & Stewart is one of the world’s great publishers, and we are committed to making it even greater.”

Please see the press release for further details.

Toronto – April 24, 2012 – Canadian Booksellers Association (CBA) today announced that the industry’s prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award will be awarded to Canadian author Margaret Atwood Canadian Author. CBA’s Lifetime Achievement Award is given in recognition of Ms. Atwood’s outstanding and longstanding contribution to the book industry. This award, which is bestowed at the discretion of CBA Board of Directors, allows booksellers and other industry stakeholders to explicitly recognize an author’s cultural impact on Canadian literary culture. Past recipients include Timothy Findley, Carol Shields, Pierre Berton, Charles Burchell and Stephen King.

Congratulations to JJ LeeCanadian Author, whose memoir, The Measure of a Man: The Story of a Father, a Son, and a Suit, has made the shortlist for the Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction. The jurors are Allan M. Brandt, Stevie Cameron, and Susan Renouf.

Visit the Charles Taylor Prize website for more details.

McClelland & Stewart would like to congratulate Jacob McArthur Mooney!Canadian AuthorHis poetry collection, Folk, was shortlisted for the 2011 Dylan Thomas Prize.

"Throughout the book, short terse poems full of memorable phrases capture a sense of place and the lives of people coming to terms with their identity and communal realities," the prize jury said of Folk.

Rohinton Mistry

McClelland & Stewart would like to congratulate
Rohinton Mistry, Canadian Author who has won the Neustadt International Prize for Literature.

"I am delighted with the news. It is, needless to say, an honour to join the list of Neustadt laureates. But it is equally so to be among the many nominees for the prize--a quick glance will reveal as much, whether one looks at the 2012 authors or the lists for previous years."

Click here for more information on this award.

The votes are in for the Writers’ Trust of Canada and Samara’s Best Canadian Political Books of the Last 25 Years project and the winner by popular choice is Ezra Levant’s Shakedown: How Our Government is Undermining Democracy in the Name of Human Rights, published in 2009. Congratulations, Ezra!

Shakedown edged out the three other popular choices: Stevie Cameron’s On the Take: Crime, Corruption and Greed in the Mulroney Years, published in 1994; Lawrence Martin’s Harperland: The Politics of Control, published in 2010; and John Duffy’s Fights of Our Lives: Elections, Leadership, and the Making of Canada, published in 2002.

Click here to read more about the Best Canadian Political Books of the Last 25 Years project.

Congratulations to Dionne Brand Canadian Author! Ossuaries is the winner of this year's Griffin Poetry Prize! The Griffin Poetry Prize was founded in 2000 to serve and encourage excellence in poetry.

"Brand's luscious and ferocious lines go beyond a critique of dystopian realities to construct, in themselves, in their keen, lyric intelligence, an oasis of truth, compassion, and sensuality."
— Jury Citation, Griffin Poetry Prize

Click here to read more about this year's Griffin Poetry Prize.

McClelland & Stewart would like to congratulate John Theberge and Mary Theberge.Canadian AuthorThe Ptarmigan's Dilemma: An Ecological Exploration into the Mysteries of Life is the winner of the Lane Anderson Award for Canadian Science writing.

"The writing is superb, and the authors' command of the material is very impressive - this is a genuinely original and impressive effort at public education." - The Jury

Michael Ondaatje

McClelland & Stewart would like to congratulate Michael Ondaatje!Canadian Author

On Tuesday, in New York at a gala evening as part of PEN America Open Voices Festival, Michael Ondaatje was presented with the Literary Service Award. The award is given "to a writer whose critically acclaimed work helps us to understand the human condition in original and powerful ways."

The award has been won previously by E.L. Doctorow, Cormac McCarthy, and Toni Morrison.

Congratulations to Trevor ColeCanadian Authorwinner of the 2011 Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour!

Practical Jean is a darkly humourous and revelatory tale of an ordinary, small-town woman with the usual challenges of middle age - a do-nothing husband, a family that refuses to understand her - who realizes her fondest wish is to protect her dearest friends from the indignities of aging and illness. And that's when she decides to kill them . . .

"Mr. Cole continues an outstanding society of Canadian writers that get humour just right," said Frank McKenna, Deputy Chair, TD Bank Group. "We are thrilled to congratulate and recognize him for his exceptional and award winning work."

Visit the Stephen Leacock Association's website for more details.