Cat's Eye
Enlarge View

Cat's Eye

Written by Margaret AtwoodMargaret Atwood Author Alert
Category: Fiction - Literary; Fiction
Format: Trade Paperback, 496 pages
Publisher: Emblem Editions
ISBN: 978-0-7710-0893-1 (0-7710-0893-7)

Pub Date: September 6, 2011
Price: $22.00

Add this item to your cart

Cat's Eye
Written by Margaret Atwood

Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780771008931
Our Price: $22.00
   Quantity: 1 

Also available as an eBook, paperback and a trade paperback.
About this Book

Controversial painter Elaine Risley returns from Vancouver for a retrospective of her work. Here, in Toronto, the city of her youth, she confronts the submerged layers of her past – her unconventional family, her eccentric and brilliant brother, the self-righteous Mrs. Smeath, and the two men Elaine later came to love in diverse and sometimes disastrous ways. But it is the enigmatic Cordelia, once her tormentor, then her best friend, whose elusive yet powerful presence in her life Elaine finally comes to understand. The realm of childhood and growing up, with its secrecies, cruelties, betrayals, and terrors, has never been so brilliantly evoked. By turns disquieting, humorous, compassionate, haunting and mordant, Cat’s Eye is vintage Atwood.

From the Hardcover edition.

up Back to top | e-mail or print this page
Review Quotes

"A literary event!"
The Toronto Star

"A brilliant, three-dimensional mosaic…the story of Elaine's childhood is so real and heartbreaking you want to stand up in your seat and cheer."
The Boston Sunday Globe

"Nightmarish, evocative, heartbreaking."
The New York Times Book Review

"The best book in a long time on female friendships…Cat's Eye is remarkable, funny, and serious, brimming with uncanny wisdom."

"No reader will fail to be moved, even to tears, by this novel. It is poignant and lingering."
— Aritha van Herk, Calgary Herald

"Lyrical, startling in its mastery of language, compelling in its handling of memory and forgetting, in its understanding of the ravages of the unransomed past."
— London Free Press

"Irresistible. . . . This book is about life for all of us."
— The Times (U.K.)

From the Paperback edition.

up Back to top | e-mail or print this page
About this Author

MARGARET ATWOOD is the internationally acclaimed author of more than forty books. Her novels include The Edible Woman, Surfacing, Alias Grace, The Blind Assassin, Oryx and Crake, and The Year of the Flood. Among the awards and honours she has received are the Booker Prize, the Giller Prize, the Governor General's Award, the Premio Mondello (Italy), the Prince of Asturias Prize for Literature (Spain), the Dan David Prize (Israel), and the World Economic Forum's Crystal Award. Margaret Atwood lives in Toronto.

up Back to top | e-mail or print this page
book cover

Upgrade to the Flash 9 viewer for enhanced content, including the ability to browse & search through your favorite titles.
Click here to learn more!