In Other Worlds
Enlarge View

In Other Worlds
SF and the Human Imagination
Written by Margaret AtwoodMargaret Atwood Author Alert
Category: Literary Criticism & Collections - Science Fiction; Literary Criticism & Collections - Canadian; Literary Collections
Format: Trade Paperback, 272 pages
Publisher: Signal
ISBN: 978-0-7710-0841-2 (0-7710-0841-4)

Pub Date: August 21, 2012
Price: $18.99

Add this item to your cart

In Other Worlds
Written by Margaret Atwood

Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780771008412
Our Price: $18.99
   Quantity: 1 

Also available as an unabridged audiobook download and an eBook.
About this Book

In Other Worlds: SF and the Human Imagination is Margaret Atwood's account of her relationship with the literary form we have come to know as "science fiction." This relationship has been lifelong, stretching from her days as a child reader in the 1940s, through her time as a graduate student at Harvard, where she worked on the Victorian ancestors of the form, and continuing as a writer and reviewer. This book brings together her three heretofore unpublished Ellmann Lectures from 2010, including "Flying Rabbits," which begins with Atwood's early rabbit superhero creations, and goes on to speculate about masks, capes, weakling alter egos, and Things with Wings. In Other Worlds also reprints some of Atwood's key reviews of other practitioners of the form and thoughts about SF. For all readers who love the work of Margaret Atwood, especially The Handmaid's Tale, The Blind Assassin, Oryx and Crake, and The Year of the Flood -- not to mention Atwood's 100,000-plus Twitter followers -- In Other Worlds is a must.

up Back to top | e-mail or print this page
Review Quotes

"Eminently readable and accessible. . . . Atwood revels in all aspects of the SF genre, both high- and low-brow, and her enthusiasm and level of intellectual engagement are second to none." 
—Financial Times

"Witty and astute. . . . Wholly satisfying."
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"[Atwood's] prose is addictive."
Cleveland Plain Dealer

up Back to top | e-mail or print this page
About this Author

MARGARET ATWOOD is the internationally acclaimed author of more than forty books. Her novels include The Edible Woman, Surfacing,Alias Grace, The Blind Assassin, Oryx and Crake, and The Year of the Flood. Among the awards and honours she has received are the Booker Prize, the Giller Prize, the Governor General's Award, the Premio Mondello (Italy), the Prince of Asturias Prize for Literature (Spain), the Dan David Prize (Israel), and the World Economic Forum's Crystal Award. Margaret Atwood lives in Toronto.

up Back to top | e-mail or print this page
book cover

Upgrade to the Flash 9 viewer for enhanced content, including the ability to browse & search through your favorite titles.
Click here to learn more!