About the Author


Author Spotlight

Rudy Wiebe


Rudy Wiebe was born on October 4, 1934, in an isolated farm community of about 250 people in a rugged but lovely region near Fairholme, Saskatchewan. His parents had escaped Soviet Russia with five children in 1930, part of the last generation of homesteaders to settle the Canadian West, and part of a Mennonite history of displacement and emigration through Europe and Asia to North and South America since the seventeenth century. In 1947 his family gave up their bush farm and moved to Coaldale, Alberta, a town east of Lethbridge peopled largely by Ukrainians, Mennonites, Mormons, and Central Europeans, as...

Rudy Wiebe
Enlarge View
Photo © J.D. Sloan
Author Alert Sign Up

McClelland & Stewart will keep you up to date on the works of Rudy Wiebe! Enter your email address below to enroll. Privacy Policy.


Author Bookshelf
Sort Results By:
On-sale date Title Format Price

book cover
The Blue Mountains of China
Written by Rudy Wiebe
Afterword by Eva-Marie Kroller

eBook | pages | New Canadian Library | Fiction
978-1-55199-602-8 (1-55199-602-2)

April 13, 2011 | $13.99

Buy this eBook

The Blue Mountains of China
Written by Rudy Wiebe, Afterword by Eva-Marie Kroller

Format: eBook
ISBN: 9781551996028
Our Price: $13.99


For readers of Wiebe's Of This Earth: A Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest and Sandra Birdsell's The Russländer.

An epic novel on the Mennonite experience, by a Governor General's Award-winning author.

Also available as a trade paperback.

book cover
Fruits of the Earth
Written by Frederick Philip Grove
Afterword by Rudy Wiebe

eBook | 400 pages | New Canadian Library | Fiction; Fiction - Classics
978-0-7710-3644-6 (0-7710-3644-2)

January 13, 2009 | $17.99

Buy this eBook

Fruits of the Earth
Written by Frederick Philip Grove, Afterword by Rudy Wiebe

Format: eBook
ISBN: 9780771036446
Our Price: $17.99


First published in 1933, Fruits of the Earth has come to be regarded as a landmark in Canadian fiction, an unparalleled depiction of the ordeals endured by the early pioneers of the western prairies. In his portrait of Abe Spalding, Frederick Philip Grove captures the essence of the pioneering spirit: its...

Also available as a trade paperback.

book cover
The Blue Mountains of China
Written by Rudy Wiebe
Afterword by Eva-Marie Kroller

Trade Paperback | 320 pages | New Canadian Library | Fiction
978-0-7710-9471-2 (0-7710-9471-X)

December 9, 2008 | $19.99

Add this item to your cart

The Blue Mountains of China
Written by Rudy Wiebe, Afterword by Eva-Marie Kroller

Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780771094712
Our Price: $19.99
   Quantity: 1 


For readers of Wiebe's Of This Earth: A Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest and Sandra Birdsell's The Russländer.

An epic novel on the Mennonite experience, by a Governor General's Award-winning author.


From the eBook edition.

Also available as an eBook.

book cover
Fruits of the Earth
Written by Frederick Philip Grove
Afterword by Rudy Wiebe

Trade Paperback | 408 pages | New Canadian Library | Fiction; Fiction - Classics
978-0-7710-3645-3 (0-7710-3645-0)

January 29, 2008 | $22.95

Add this item to your cart

Fruits of the Earth
Written by Frederick Philip Grove, Afterword by Rudy Wiebe

Format: Trade Paperback
ISBN: 9780771036453
Our Price: $22.95
   Quantity: 1 


First published in 1933, Fruits of the Earth has come to be regarded as a landmark in Canadian fiction, an unparalleled depiction of the ordeals endured by the early pioneers of the western prairies. In his portrait of Abe Spalding, Frederick Philip Grove captures the essence of the pioneering spirit: its...

Also available as an eBook.

book cover
The Temptations of Big Bear
Written by Rudy Wiebe
Afterword by Robert Kroetsch

Paperback | 408 pages | New Canadian Library | Fiction - Literary
978-0-7710-3454-1 (0-7710-3454-7)

February 25, 1995 | $14.95

Add this item to your cart

The Temptations of Big Bear
Written by Rudy Wiebe, Afterword by Robert Kroetsch

Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780771034541
Our Price: $14.95
   Quantity: 1 


“What can that mean, I and my family will have a ‘reserve of one square mile’?”

So asks Big Bear of Governor Morris, come to impose a square treaty on the round, buffalo-covered world of the Plains Cree. As the buffalo vanish and the tension builds to the second Riel Rebellion, Big...